Elf Small Stipple Brush

100_5891

I’m not stranger to trying to saving coins, which is the major reason that I am very familiar with Elf Cosmetics. When I first started wearing makeup 2 years ago, I wanted a brush kit as vast as every beauty vlogger and blogger normalized (fun fact: no one who isn’t a makeup artist needs that many brushes). Unfortunately, I quickly learned that brushes are my least favorite thing to purchase, which is why it took 2 years for a small stipple brush (or really a stipple brush of any kind) to get into my collection and I’m glad I finally did.

I love packaging and the visual physicality, so my eyes are pleased with this product, but my hands are not. The brush is slim, which is my preference for brushes, and black and white, another one of my preferences. The length of the bristles are slightly uneven. It’s like they couldn’t decide if they wanted them all to be long or not so they kind of did both at random intervals throughout. Also, the shiny piece that connects the bristles to the handle is very loose and shifts back-and-forth through application.

Now, all of this paints a very poor image of my experience with this brush, but it’s still one of my favorites. I first tried using it with foundation and I was honestly, very disappointed. The bristles are too far spaced apart to do any real liquid blending and since it’s a small stipple brush it took a lot of effort to do my whole face with it. Later on I read the instructions, which recommended using it to blend in blushes, so of course I decided to contour with it and lo-and-behold, my continued incorrect usage of this brush finally worked out! It’s small enough to pop into the baby hollows of my face and allow me to gradually build up product.

100_5879

Do I think this is a must have brush? No. Like I said, the bristles are uneven and the brush feels one rough blend away from snapping into 3 pieces, but I don’t regret the purchase. It’s perfect for me, because I don’t contour that often and I have low brush standards. If you’re a person who is serious about their brushes though, I definitely say skip it, and buy elsewhere.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter

6 thoughts on “Elf Small Stipple Brush

  1. Joyce Belfort says:

    I battled with stippling brushes for years. These days, I use them to blend or diffuse blushes / bronzers / contour / highlights. I see many bloggers use them for straight dewy/glow foundation; perhaps freebie/sponsored? I agree with you on this, it is too much work to apply foundation with stippling brush.

    Like

    • andlivloves says:

      Yeah! That’s where I got the idea that they should be used for foundations until I saw someone using it to contour with and then I started doing it as well and it actually worked! Can’t always believe the sponsored beauty hype!

      Liked by 1 person

    • andlivloves says:

      They’re so cost effective! I feel like I’ve bought some that weren’t the best, but they’re the only brand that I’m willing to be completely adventurous with my brush purchases!

      Like

Leave a Reply

