Skincare Routine

When it comes to skincare, less is definitely more! YouTube “get unready with me” videos had me messed up with this, because the standard appears to be at least 12 products long. Then I realized that the more products you use, the harder it is to figure out what product is the culprit when your face begins to break out or become otherwise irritated. After some tweaking, I’ve brought my routine down to 5 base products, though I usually only use 3 or 4 at a given time.

100_6043new

1: St. Ives Even & Bright Pink Lemon & Mandarin Orange Scrub: I bought this because I am so lit for pink lemonade. Fun fact: pink lemons are not used in pink lemonade, and I feel slightly betrayed. On the bright side, the scrub does a good job as a moderate physical exfoliant, which is what the back of it claims to do. I do not believe it leaves my skin super radiant (minus the leftovers of the product that stick to my face), but I do like to use it as a bit of a boost on my “so dry I’m patchy” days. Plus it smells super nice.

2: DG Body Deep Cleaning Astringent  for Sensitive Skin: This is essentially the generic version of the Clean & Clear Deep Cleansing Astringent and I bought this one because I am cheap. It does a great job of letting me know that I am terrible at fully cleaning my face with a regular cleanser. It picks up all of the product and residue that’s left behind on my face and also has salicylic acid to help treat acne. It’s also flammable, so if the power goes out in the winter, I’ll have access to an alternative heat source.

3: Equate Beauty Dry Skin Cream: Another off brand version of a popular brand, this one is meant to be a coin saving version of the Pond’s Dry Skin Cream. I like it for my neck and eyebrow area, though I think it occasionally hits me a little to hard with that dewy glow. This means it’s great to layer under foundation, if you’re looking to get extra-luminous. It also smells like a freshly washed baby and lives up to it’s only claim of “moisturizing for soft skin.”

4: Elizavecca Milky Piggy Bubble Clay Mask: This is the fastest I’ve ran out of any product in my life. I wrote about it in a monthly favorites post, did a demo with it, and wrote a full on review. In addition to being the most fun facial a gal (or guy or gender-non-conforming person) can have, it’s a gentle exfoliator and I love using it as a cleanser when my acne tries to get all intense on me.

5: Clean & Clear Essentials Foaming Facial Cleanser: I usually use the sensitive skin version of this, and I can definitely say I prefer it over this original version. It burns my face a little bit if I leave it on my face for more than 30 seconds, but I do think it does the job of cleansing, especially when combined with the scrubber pod from the L’Oreal Go 360 facial cleanser.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter

4 thoughts on “Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

