Monday Motivation: Accomplishing Life’s Unconquerable Tasks

In my head, my fairly boring life is wildly stressful. There are large concerns floating in the back of my mind (e.g. my crazy-expensive tuition) that slowly become wrapped up in all of my smaller life issues (e.g. Riverdale is on a 3 week break, I have 20 pages of essay due tomorrow, and I need to start a job hunt). I’m constantly weighed down by all of these concerns and commitments, but the irony is that I often spend more time thinking than actually doing.

dark-sea-3

Typically, when I’m given a task all I can think is, “That’s way too much! Maybe other people can do that, but I’m not other people.” I’ll wake up every morning and stew and mourn over the loss of my life success to this unconquerable task. In fact, I’ll spend so much time stewing and mourning that my window of opportunity for doing the task will pass, and once again, I’m left discouraged. The truth is, I am afraid of the uncertainty of outcomes – the murky waters; they’re dark, they’re deep, and I’m terribly afraid of drowning. There’s no way to drown if you don’t dip in. Unfortunately, you can’t pass through waters you refuse to cross.

This Monday I challenge myself and all of you ignited with the fear of these murky waters to do two things: test the waters and be ready to forgive. You don’t have to dive head first into a specific task, but make a move toward it. Submerging one foot into those liquid depths puts you on the right path for a full body swim. More importantly, be ready to forgive yourself. We call them challenging tasks because, for one reason or another, they aren’t easy. Mishaps are to be expected, but should not be granted the power to banish all of your potential greatness. Move forward and move with kindness for yourself.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr Instagram ♥ Twitter

Leave a Reply

