Holy Grail Lipsticks for Dry Lips

My lips are cracked like peanut brittle! Lipstick application is a struggle and most products only last a maximum of 2 hours on my lips. Whether its a matte, satin, or gloss finish, nearly every lip product seems to have the world’s strongest beef with my mouth.  It takes a truly brave and fierce lipstick to stand up to these lips and here are the products that have passed the test!

100_7402new

Ulta Matte Lip Creams

100_7409new

Hands down, the best product for my dehydrated lips! The formula is ultra creamy, but it doesn’t stay wet or tacky. It’s also kind of moisturizing! I often throw one on when I’m having a dry lip day and just apply a second coat to my lips if they start to feel a bit crusty later on. Plus, Ulta is always almost running a sale of some sort, so the $9 price tag is fully debatable.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams

100_7455

These aren’t very long lasting, but if you’re looking for matte vibes that won’t kill your lips, this is it .They’re super great to blend into other lip shades. The main downside for me is that they aren’t super buildable. Fortunately, the ultra comfortable formula makes that something I can overlook.

NARS Lip Pencils

100_7432new

This is the most expensive item on the list, but they are some of the best products I’ve used. I’m generally not a fan of satin finishes, because they often exaggerate my flakiest spots and clump up in my lip valleys, but these don’t do that! Whether I’m using a velvet matte or a satin pencil, they all go on smooth and last a long time. Best part: the fact that it’s a pencil gives me the most precise application of my life!

Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Lipsticks

100_7460new

I did a review on these last year and described the application as similar to putting on lip balm. Here I am in April, continuing to stand by that claim! They’re a bit pricey for a drugstore product ($12 at Walgreens & Ulta), but completely worth it. My lips didn’t become obnoxiously dry while wearing them, and it fades out throughout the day, so you never have a moment where you look like a patchy fool!

Elf Luscious Liquid Lipsticks

100_7449new

This formula is a bit of a cheat addition, because they are not true liquid lipsticks. I think of them more as a gloss. They leave a nice amount of color on the lips and only cost $1! I use them on my driest lip days for a nice tint with a subtle metallic glow (which is very on trend for Spring 2017). They are the ultimate lipstick hater’s best friend!

This is the top lineup from my current lipstick collection, so definitely feel free to add all of your recommendations down below as well!

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr Instagram ♥ Twitter

2 thoughts on “Holy Grail Lipsticks for Dry Lips

  1. dailycitylife says:

    Oooo you make me want to try the e.l.f. ones! I’ve always been hesitant to try them because of the price tag (you get what you pay for). But since you said they’re actually good, I might have to pick one up! I’ve also always wanted to try the NARS and NYX ones…although I’m still hesitant about the NYX ones since you said they’re not buildable…

    Like

    • andlivloves says:

      I say skip the NYX ones if you’re interested in building color, and definitely give the elf ones a try! They aren’t really long-wearing, but they’re super comfortable and when they fade, they fade evenly!

      Like

Leave a Reply

