NYX Total Control Drop Foundation Review

100_7647new

It’s a fun foundation Friday! Once again, I was attracted to a non-traditional formula and picked up the NYX Total Control Drop Foundation from Ulta! With 1 drop you can get close to embracing that “Alicia Keys natural look” and with 3-4 drops you can go full “Beyonce on tour glam.” They retail for $13.99, which is – in my most honest opinion – very pricey for the drugstore. Thankfully, I was fully willing to make the $14 sacrifice in the name of science and letting you all know if you should join me on this drop adventure too!

Today we cry about: The formula is very thin and watery, but whether or not it spreads well definitely depends on your blending tool, especially if you’re going for lighter coverage (I recommend a blending sponge or a soft, flat top brush). It’s also super easy to use too much because of the formula, which leaves me looking greasy, yet with all my dry patches revealed. When this foundation works, it looks flawless. When it doesn’t work… well, you can take all the texture in the photo above as a cautionary tale.

Today we rejoice: The product claims to give a demi-matte finish with adjustable coverage, which it does – provided you apply it correctly. It lasts for a good 4 hours before I get a “natural glow” and at about the 8 hour mark is when I turn into a luminous queen. All my products blend into it well and it doesn’t emphasize my pores. The biggest plus is the huge shade selection. There is literally something available for everyone, though many of the deeper shades are online exclusives.

100_7641new

Overall, this is a good foundation; I just don’t think it’s worth $14. The coverage truly is adjustable and it’s very long-wearing, but you get so little product (0.43 oz), it shows my dry patches, and there are cheaper drugstore foundations that perform similarly, if not better. I wasn’t particularly wowed, but it is a fun product to use and it’s ultra travel friendly!

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter

Leave a Reply

