$6 Face: Elf Bronzing Palette

I have been bamboozled, betrayed, and led astray by this palette. My love for a bronzed face has grown immensely over the past two years. Sometimes I want a more chiseled face and other times I want to trick strangers into believing that I love the outdoors. All of this led to my decision to purchase Elf’s $6 Bronzing Palette and the following devastation when I found out that it was a complete flop!

100_7742new

Let’s Have a Sob Circle: I knew I was going to be in for a rough ride the moment I opened this palette up. On the packaging, the shades in the palette appeared fairly deep. Furthermore, while the palette I bought at the store was called “Bronze Beauty,” online it is actually listed as “Deep/Dark.” This is a complete lie. Only one of these shades is dark enough to show up on my face as an actual bronzing shade and only after I have put on multiple layers. Let it be known that I am not the deepest person on the planet and if you’re making a bronzing palette that barely works for me, then you’re doing it wrong. And if you even begin to think that a palette like this can be called Deep/Dark, then you definitely need to do some inward reflection.

100_7760new

Not only was the shade selection a bust, but I am so confused by the formulation of the shadows. The bronzing shades are chalky and weakly pigmented. I feel like I have to dig my brush into my pan to pick up a decent amount of product. I’ve only used it about 5 times and I already have a dip in my bronzing shade from using so much.

100_7768

There is Some Hope: The highlighting shades in this palette are fairly decent. One of the shades gives a soft natural glow – which I’m a huge fan of – and the other can get you more of that glam look. They are honestly the saving grace of this collection. The cherry on top is that the packaging is really smart. It’s sleek, travel-friendly, and comes with a huge mirror. More importantly, all of the shades pop out and can be swapped with colors from other elf bronzing, blush, and contour palettes. So, even though I think the actual bronzing shades are terrible, I can always replace them with blushes that work well!

100_7763new

At the end of the day, I only recommend buying this product if you’re interested in swapping the shades to create your own custom palette. The quality is inconsistent and the shades you see online and on the box are not true to the actual colors. Of course, this does have a 3.7 out of 5 star rating on the elf website so I know some people are living for this palette – I’m just not one of them.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter

Leave a Reply

