NYX Matte Finish Makeup Setting Spray

I am on a huge setting spray kick! I used to think they were all hype, but I am now a believer who is out to explore the vastness of this liquid world! This time around I went for the NYX Matte Finish Makeup Setting Spray which retails for $8.

100_6792new

It gives a nice and classy vibe to my makeup station with the sleek black and white packaging. At the top is a push down spritzer, which sprays out a enough product to cover about 3/4 of your face in one pump. The best part is that even though it gives out a lot of the setting spray, it still creates a fine mist. All around, the packaging is a win, because you can spend less time spraying and more time playing with the rest of your makeup. It also has 2.03 fl oz which is about as much as you get in the e.l.f. Makeup Mist & Set.

100_6796new

Now on to the big ticket question: does it really mattify the face? In my opinion, no. I have mainly been using this with my Revlon ColorStay foundation, which leaves me with a natural to demi-matte finish, and my skin looks exactly the same regardless of if I add the spray or not. If you have oily skin like I do, then this may not be the answer to your makeup prayers. Despite that, it does what I look for in a setting spray. It melds all of my products together on my face to create a smooth image and remove any powderiness and dry patches. It also does slow the time it takes for my makeup to separate on my face, though not by a dramatic amount.

100_6792new

Ultimately, I think that this product is really just a basic setting spray. Nothing about it gets me #litforlife or makes it a standout in my beauty routine. I’m certainly not mad that I bought it, because it accomplishes what I seek for my setting sprays to do. That being said, I am more than likely not rushing to CVS to repurchase it when the bottle is empty.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, have an awesome rest of your day and an amazing rest of your week!

YouTube ♥ Tumblr ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter

8 thoughts on “NYX Matte Finish Makeup Setting Spray

  1. What a wonderfully detailed review! The only time I use setting spray is during summer, and my favorite has got to be the Supergoop Setting Spray with SPF–it makes keeping my skin protected during the summer a breeze! And it really sets my makeup and helps it last. I buy the smaller size ($12) and it lasts me all of summer. I have considered trying the L’Oréal and also this NYX one, so your review definitely helped me out! I used the ELF one years ago and found it to be okay, but it didn’t blow me away.

    Like

    1. I’ve never heard of Supergoop, but $12 is definitely my kind of price tag! The SPF also seems like the ultimate bonus, especially since you can reapply sprays without ruining your face! Definitely adding that to my “to try list!” I say if you’re looking for another summertime spray though, this NYX spray probably isn’t the one!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love the SPF, it really makes it easy to reapply spf without messing up my makeup, just like you said! I don’t use any for winter, but I think I might test out the L’Oréal infallible since it has such great reviews.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm.. I’ve been thinking about this one for a while now but I’m all about the mattifying… I love the L’Oreal Infallible one though! It’s a great dupe for Urban Decay De-Slick!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.